Davidson & Boulama win Niagara 5 km titles


The USATF Niagara Association 5 km Championships were held on Saturday, August 13 in Bergen, N.Y.  The championships were part of the Jenny Kozma Memorial Bergen 5K.  A total of 112 Niagara members participated in the championships.  Times were slowed considerably due to the extreme temperatures that reached into the high 80s by the finish.
The open men’s and women’s champions were Omar Boulama, 22, of Walworth and Hannah Davidson, 26, of Saratoga Springs, N.Y.   The top masters, based on age graded scoring, were Mark Andrews (men) of Rochester and Karyl Sargent (women) of Lafayette, NY.
Boulama ran 15:07 to win by 2 seconds over 2015 champion Sam Morse, 32, of Camden. Third place was Elliott Martynkiewicz, 22, of East Aurora in 15:12.
Screen-Shot-2016-08-16-at-2-09-18-PM.pngDavidson, won her third straight 5 km title running 17:20 to win by 24 seconds over Kathryn Potter of Honeoye Falls.  The race for third place was a tight one with three women finishing within six seconds of each other.  Sarah Loerch (Ashburn, VA) ran 18:03 to edge Jennifer Boerner (Lancaster) and Kim Vona (Angola) who ran 18:06 and 18:09, respectively for fourth and fifth places.
In the masters competition Andrews, 45, and Sargent, 53, had the best masters male and female performances on the day (based the age graded performance tables).    Andrews ran 15:55 to score 89.28% while Sargent ran 19:58 to score 85.55%.  On a day where many ran 30-60 seconds slower than last year, Andrews was only 11 seconds slower than his 2015 time.
Other notable masters performances (over 80%) were turned in by: Kevin Clinefelter, 60, of Rochester (19:07, 83.53%); Brian Cummins, 61, of Cortland (19:28, 82.71%); Heather Webster, 42, of Honey Falls (18:35, 82.64%); Dale Flanders, 51, of Allegany (18:03, 82.36%), Kevin Burke, 43, of Buffalo (17:04, 82.06%); Jim May, 70, of Williamson (21:23, 81.69%); Derrick Jones, 44, of Henrietta (17:32, 80.46%); and Beth Anne Deciantis, 54, of Rochester (21:33, 80.16%)
The masters age division champions were:

Men 40-44

Kevin Burke

Buffalo, NY


Men 45-49

Mark Andrews

Rochester, NY


Men 50-54

Dale Flanders

Allegany, NY


Men 55-59

Dennis Kinney

Rochester, NY


Men 60-64

Kevin Clinefelter

Rochester, NY


Men 65-69

Tony Gingello

Rochester, NY


Men 70-74

Jim May

Williamson, NY


Men 75-79

Dwight Rogers

Churchville, NY


Women 40-44

Heather Webster

Honeoye Falls, NY


Women 45-49

Amy Fakterowitz

Buffalo, NY


Women 50-54

Karyl Sargent

Lafayette, NY


Women 55-59

Colleen Magnussen

Geneseo, NY


In the team competition it was the Bergen Elite men and Genesee Valley Harriers women winning the open titles and the Genesse Valley Harriers sweeping the masters titles.  

In the open men’s race the Bergen Elite squad was able to turn the tables on the Syracuse Track Club, who were the defending team champions in a hotly contested battle last year.  In fact they put both their A and B teams ahead of the Syracuse TC squad.  The Bergen A team defeated their B team 1:20:41 to 1:22:35 for the title with the Syracuse TC cumulative time of 1:23:11 earning them the team bronze medal by just 14 seconds over the Genesse Valley Harriers men.
In the women’s race the Genesse Valley Harriers team time was 55:00 which put them  1:05 seconds ahead of the Bergen Elite women. The Checkers AC finished third with a cumulative team time of 57:21.
In the masters team competition the winning teams were: Genesee Valley Harriers (M50+), Genesee Valley Harriers (M60+), Genesee Valley Harriers (W40+), and Genesee Valley Harriers (W50+).