De Haan, Potter, Jones, Webster top fields at Niagara 10 km Championships

Results & Photos

The 2017 USATF Niagara 10 km Championships were held on Sunday (21-May) as part of the Rochester Lilac Festival 10 km.  Forty-eight (48) athletes competed in the championships.
The open champions were Ben De Haan, 24, (Ithaca) and Kathryn Potter, 28, (Honeoye Falls). De Haan ran 30:50 to narrowly defeat Niagara 10 mile champion Elliott Martynkiewicz, 23, (East Aurora) who also stopped the clock at 30:50.  Potter ran 35:52 to defeat Monicah Otwori, 32, (Fairport) by 19 seconds.  
The top masters performances were turned in by Derrick Jones, 45, of Henrietta and Heather Webster, 43, of Honeoye Falls.  Jones won the men’s 45-49 division running 34:23 which scored 83.85% on the age-grading tables.  Webster’s 82.83% was the second best age-graded score overall and the best by a woman.  She was the women’s 45-49 division winner running 38:30.
The Genesee Valley Harriers (GVH) women's team and Bergen Elite men's team won the open team titles.  The GVH women’s team of Kathryn Potter, Ashley Nevol, and Heather Webster combined for a team time of 1:52:40.  Roadkill Racing finished second with a team time of 2:37:45. In the men’s team competition the Bergen Elite 5-man squad combined for a time of 2:46:11 to defeat the Genesee Valley Harriers (2:50:45) and Roadkill Racing (3:07:46). The Bergen Elite team members were Elliott Martynkiewicz, Greg Selke, Nick Orlowski, Keith Johnson, and, Bobby Cooper.          
The event served as the second race in the 2017 USATF Niagara Runner of The Year Series. Elliott Martynkiewicz and Monicah Otwori currently lead the series For current standings click here.  The next event on the schedule is the Niagara 1 Mile Track Championships on June 9.