GETTING TO KNOW…..ELLIE PELL

5/5/2020
 
 

High School you attended?
South Seneca High School - 2009

College you attended?
SUNY Brockport - 2013
 
Major in College?
Sports Psychology
 
Current Occupation (or part time-job)?
Cafe Manager, Collegetown Bagels
 
Your marathon history?
Buffalo 2016 (2:54:05)
Buffalo 2019 (2:48:41)
Hartford 2019 (2:41:52)
Olympic Trials 2020 (2:44:59)


Tell us about your Olympic Trials experience in Atlanta:
It was the most magical weekend of my life. Everything was taken care of for both my sister and I. I could relax (and did!) the days leading up because I knew what was going on.  The race was exactly as it was billed. It was hilly, windy and the roads we’re in need of work. However, personally I relished in it all. I was at the Olympic Trials! Never in a MILLION YEARS would I have believed that even a year ago.   My first loop was spent in a blissfully happy place surrounded by the best runners in the country. How could it get better? The second loop got hard and the discomfort began to build. I focused on controlling what I could and getting to the last loop.  The final loop was a pain train, but I never once thought of dropping. This race is a once-in-a-lifetime kind of thing. Unless I were to break something, finishing was important to me. There might not be a next time (as 2020 is looking...)  I finished in 2:44:59 (my second fastest time ever). My training leading up wasn’t too confidence boosting (winter sucks) so I was surprised I pulled that of. Considering how the rest of 2020 is shaping up, I am happy to have gone out with a race like that.

Read more about Ellie's race in Atlanta here - A Race in Atlanta
 
How did you start running?
I started running when I moved to Ithaca, the town I now have roots and call my home. I knew no one and running was free therapy. I was probably 19 or 20, I didn’t run much in high school or college but played volleyball. LOL 
 
What were your best track times in high school?
I did not run in high school.  I played basketball and volleyball.
 
#1 High School highlight?
I was the MVP of my school senior year in volleyball and basketball.
 
What were your best track times in college?
LOL, i did not run in college.
 
#1 professional highlight?
ATLANTA!!!!  It really has to be qualifying for the Trials.
 
Something unique about you that we might not know about you?
I am a bookworm.  I read everything and anything. Whether it’s chick-lit, fantasy, history, fiction, non-fiction, self-improvement, hobbies, sports...I love it all!
 
Current Coach?
My training partners.
 
Favorite Workout?
1 km repeats.  However, the one I always do when I don’t know what to do is a 6 mile tempo. Nothing hits you in the face with your fitness like that staple.
 
Favorite Place to Train?
I love our local half marathon course. It runs through Ellis Hollow and through Cornell University. It’s hilly and quiet, I run there whenever I can.
 
Favorite Food?
Peanut butter!!!
 
Favorite Restaurant?
Collegetown Bagels (it’s the cafe I manage, yup it’s that good)
 
Favorite music?
I don’t really listen to music, not because I don’t like it, but because I prefer podcasts.
 
Favorite TV Shows?
24, That 70s Show, Designated Survivor, the 100
 
Favorite Author?
Jodi Picoult, Ryan Holiday, Brad Stulberg/Steve Magness, Nicholas Sparks, JK Rowling, Sarah Maas
 
Favorite Book?
Oh boy, this is the hardest question.  It is like picking a favorite child! I cannot.
 
What is your preferred social media? 
Twitter - find me at @gazzellie
 
If you could have lunch with one person who would it be? 
Brad Stulberg - he is a researcher, writer, coach, and speaks on health, human performance, and well-being.
 
How about dinner?
Emma Watson or Jameela Jamil
 
Over the years who would have you found to be the best training partner? 
Chelsea Bensen and Bailey Drewes 
 
Your Role Model?
my sister, Laurel Pell
 
Favorite Athlete?
Courtney Dauwalter. Her attitude is infectious and I need that in my life.
 
What do you foresee yourself doing in 5 years, 10 years, 20 years?
I am day-by-day right now, but I’ll be running.


media services by