

USATF Niagara Association Business meeting October 2, 2022

The Annual Business meeting of the USATF Niagara Association took place on October 2, 2022 via ZOOM. President Russ Ebbets called the meeting to order at 11:12 with the following Board members in attendance: Russ Ebbets, Fred Covelli, Chris Cummings, Perry Jenkins, Jim Glinsky, Kathy McLymond, Izeal Bullock, Don Lawrence and Rozanne Redlinski. The following Association members were also present: Adam Engst, Greg Tuttle, Laura Semar, Michael Nier, Alex Chacon, Reginal Henderson, Karen Ocque, Matmhew Roberts, Michelle Bogdan, Zachary Ferrar, Kraig Connor, Jaye, Pratt, Edna Hyer, Pete Sullivan, Ken Goodfellow, Arthur Hormline, Ben Drexler, Colleen Newman Magnussen, Matt Merrill and Willie Price.

- 1. After the call to order, a quorum was established.
- 2. Roll Call was taken of the Board members and there were no credential disputes.
- 3. Minutes of the 2021 Annual Meeting: A motion was made by Kathy to accept the minutes and seconded by Perry Jenkins. The minutes were approved as written.
- 4. Treasurer's report: Chris Cummings did not elaborate, but referred members to the Treasurer's report he gave 2 weeks ago in the September meeting. He saw a trend that memberships are up but sanctions are down. Total assets are \$15K with no outstanding loans or debts.
- 5. President report: Russ hopes to increase membership but is concerned about increasing the sanctions. The income from sanctions is our biggest revenue. He also hopes to increase the club levels. RJT is building. Russ set up a cross country clinic and is planning to develop 10-12 clinics for the coming. The Lions clubs contributed \$3250. The Ralph Wilson Grant was not successful, partly because the Foundation hopes to distribute the moneys to groups in the City of Buffalo. Willie Price reported that the Niagara Track and Field Club did get money from the Ralph Wilson Foundation.
  - VP: Fred Covelli reported that the Cross Country meet in Corning area was successful. The Outdoor meet at Nazareth was successful with Masters, Open and Youth. We are in the process of organizing the Region 2 Outdoor meet. Terry Eason was not in attendance.
- 6. Long Distance report: Eric was not in attendance.
- 7. Membership: Jim Glinsky reported that we are ahead of last year's numbers because live racing is back.

- 8. High Performance: Don Lawrence described his High Performance series that are held on the second Thursday for each month. As of the time of the meeting, Don has had 213 members in attendance. All of the series meeting have been recorded and can be found on our website. Don is also running race walk clinics at various location.
- 9. Youth: Izeal Bullock reviewed the Youth meets. Increase in the Youth programs is slow.
- 10. Officials: Kathy McLymond
- 11. Calendar: There are 46 certified officials in the Association. Terry Eason, Dan Egan, Perry Eason, Kathy McLyomond, Chris Ribbeck and Pat Tierney were chosen for National Meets. The Oregon Association invited the Niagara Officials to attend their training clinics in which Terry Eason and Kathy McLymond were presenters.
- 12. Calendar: Perry requested that the calendar be updated to list all of the Association and National meets.
- 13. Unfinished business:

Willie Price made a motion to accept the Bylaw changes as seen on the Website. This motion was seconded by Don Lawrence. After a brief discussion during which some members expressed with inability to see the changes in writing. They were posted on the Website. Rozanne explained that Scott Irwin went through out Bylaws and told us what changes were needed to bring them up to date. The Bylaws passed with one "Nay" and two "abstentions".

- New Business: Kathy McLymond announced the following awards: Outstanding Service Award: Kevin Rosco, Matt Merrill and Don Lawrence Outstanding Official: Lou Ann Tierney
- 15. Election of Officers:

With the help of Andy Martin, the following elections took place: Second Vice President: Michelle Bogdan Treasurer: Jacky Mendez At-Large: Kraig Connors Mike Nier Matt Merrill 16.Meeting was adjourned at 12:40pm

Rozanne Redlinski